Interview: Joey

Joey Montoya:

I’m an AmeriCorps intern doing my service at Georgia O’Keeffe Museum this summer. I’m also a grad student, studying Media Arts, at New Mexico Highlands University. AmeriCorps places volunteers/interns to do community service projects in a broad range of areas. AmeriCorps Cultural Technology (ACT), the specific program I am part of, places volunteers in technology related institutions.

I’m originally from Espanola, NM and finished my undergraduate degree in Steubenville, OH. I wanted to complete graduate school in New Mexico near home, so I found New Mexico Highlands University and applied to its program. The culture here is very rich and to be part of a project that seeks to preserve our culture by means of technology is very exciting to me.

Leave a Reply

